Being pulled over on the suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol is terrifying, and can be potentially harmful to your professional and personal life. The sight of the flashing blue lights in your rearview mirror is enough to raise your pulse and create Fear. Panic takes over and logistics can be skewed as your memory fades. Maybe you had a few beers but felt like you were fine to drive home. You may have done it many times before, but this time it didn’t work out. You have found yourself charged with a DUI. “Now what?” It may be time to call a DUI Lawer.
Charged With a DUI in Utah?
Utah DUI penalties are among the most strict in the country. If you are convicted of Driving under the influence in Utah, even your first offense will pose mandatory jail time for 48 hours, or instead of jail, it can be satisfied through community service. You also will pay a hefty fine and lose your license for 120 days. During a second offense, it’s an $800 fine, a minimum of 10 days in jail, and the loss of your license for two years. Here In Utah, a third offense is considered a felony. The penalties include a $1,500 fine, a minimum of 62.5 days in jail, and the loss of your license for two years; along with any consequences you face with a felony record. Defense Attorneys or your DUI attorney are trained in different strategies to dismiss/reduce charges and prevent any unwarranted convictions.
DUI Convictions Pose Long-Lasting Consequences
A DUI conviction is a serious matter, it can be potentially disastrous for you and your loved ones. It could mean losing your job or security clearance. There is a chance you’ll be able to keep your job, but it will be more difficult getting to and from work. Besides that, your freedom to make a quick run to the grocery store or the bank in a moment’s notice will be gone. If you have children, you will be unable to drive them to school each day, to friends’ houses or doctor’s appointments. You will be out of work altogether if driving is part of your job. Your family will likely be embarrassed, angry and disappointed with you. While a DUI charge can make your life difficult, it also can cause irreversible damage to your personal relationships.
It is most important to avoid a DUI conviction on your record at all costs. Whether you are unemployed or young, a drunk driving conviction can follow you for the rest of your life. In addition, being convicted of a felony can potentially affect your ability to own a personal firearm or get a job in the future.
Hire an Experienced DUI Lawyer
If you have been charged with a DUI it is critical to have an experienced attorney on your side. You need knowledgeable professionals to support you in your case and get you the best possible result. In addition, here are a few reasons why it is a good idea to hire an experienced DUI attorney :
- A defense attorney could reduce or eliminate jail time
- Hiring a DUI attorney could prevent a revoked license
- Having a lawyer may reduce your DUI charge to a lesser offense
- Your DUI lawyer could potentially avoid trial with a plea bargain
If you have been charged with DUI in Utah, there is hope. Rely on a DUI lawyer with Larsen, Larsen, Nash, and Larsen and get a skilled professional on your side. Give us a call today at (801) 204-9224 and we’ll help you take back your life.