Utah Personal Injury FAQs

Salt Lake City Personal Injury Attorneys Answer Frequently Asked Questions

At Larsen, Larsen, Nash & Larsen, we focus on providing unprecedented personal attention and support to our clients. With over 60 years of combined experience, our firm has been able to help thousands of people file personal injury claims for compensation. For your benefit, we have listed the questions we are asked most frequently.  Please feel free to contact our firm for more information on our Personal injury services.

What is the Statute of Limitations in Utah?

In the state of Utah, from the time of most personal injuries, you have four years to file a claim for compensation. With the exception of wrongful death cases, in which the time frame is two years.

Can I recover damages if I am hurt in an accident?

If your injury from a car crash or any other type of accident, was the result of negligence, most often you are eligible to receive compensation. Although difficult, a personal injury attorney from Larsen, Larsen, Nash & Larsen is an invaluable resource in proving negligence.

Do I have to go to court to recover damages in Utah?

One is very unlikely to appear in court when a personal injury lawsuit is filed. In fact, approximately 95 percent of injury claims do not make it to court. Instead, most of them settle during negotiation phases. At Larsen, Larsen, Nash & Larsen, we are prepared to go to trial if it provides the best chance of obtaining the compensation you deserve.

For what injuries can I file a personal injury claim?

For injuries sustained due to the negligence of another person or party, it is important to file a personal injury claim. These injuries can result from accidents including automobiles and mishaps involving dangerous property.

How much is my case worth?

Certain factors affect the overall value of your personal injury case, these include the following:

  • The type of injury sustained
  • Your costs thus far, and the projected future costs of the injury
  • The severity/permanence of the injury
  • Your ability to recover, achieve rehabilitation and return to work
  • The emotional distress you suffered as a result of the injury

For more info, visit our "What's My Salt Lake City, Utah Personal Injury Case Worth?" guide.

How much does a personal injury lawyer cost in Utah?

Personal injury services are most often handled on a contingency basis. Typically, if compensation is received from your case, a percentage of that amount goes to attorney fees. In the event that your case is dismissed or the opposing party is not found negligent, you will pay nothing. For more info, visit our "How Much Does A Personal Injury Lawsuit Cost?" guide.

Do I need an injury attorney?

When you file a claim for compensation, you are not legally required to use a personal injury attorney. Although, with the help of an experienced and reliable lawyer you can be sure your legal needs are being handled appropriately and professionally. For more info, visit our "How to File a Personal Injury Lawsuit" guide.

Seek Compensation Today

With the ability to provide unparalleled services, Larsen, Larsen, Nash & Larsen is prepared to help you obtain coverage for the damages you have suffered. For more information on our services or to schedule a free consultation, call our firm at (801) 964-1200 or contact us online today. We are conveniently located in West Valley City, just west of I-215. We currently represent clients throughout Salt Lake County and the surrounding areas of northern Utah. These areas include Summit County, Davis County and Wabash County, Provo, Ogden, and Park City.