Cocaine Possession Laws & Penalties In Utah
Cocaine & Other Schedule II Controlled Substances
Cocaine is classified as a Schedule II controlled substance. A Common characteristic among schedule II drugs includes having a strong potential for abuse. Most often these drugs have medical uses with severe restrictions and they all have a strong potential for psychological and/or physical addiction. The following substances are often present in drug crimes:
- Cocaine in all forms, including coca leaves and crack
- Opium and opium oil/tincture
- Prescription opiates such as OxyContin, Percocet, Demerol and Codeine
- Prescription stimulants such as Adderall, Ritalin, Concerta, and Focalin
Under the cocaine possession laws of Utah, holding or distributing cocaine or any other schedule II controlled substance is a felony offense. In this case, an individual should be prepared to serve time at the Utah State prison.
Types Of Charges
As with marijuana, the following activities are punishable offenses when involving cocaine or any of its variations.
- Possession – carrying any amount of cocaine for personal use
- Possession of cocaine paraphernalia
- Possession with intent to deliver
- Distribution, sale or delivery of cocaine or paraphernalia
- Cultivation – growing and/or harvesting coca leaves
- Trafficking – importing into or exporting out of the state
Factors That Affect Your Case
Cocaine distribution penalties are significantly more serious than mere possession. Other variables that can affect your cocaine possession charges include the following:
- The amount of cocaine in your possession
- Whether or not minors were involved or present
- If the crime occurred in a drug-free zone including a school, church or library
- If a person is injured or killed from an accident involving a cocaine crime
- The number of previous offenses and your history of criminal drug activity
Minimum & Maximum Cocaine Possession Penalties In Utah
A conviction of a third-degree felony drug offense can get you up to five years in prison. Charges may include up to $5,000 in fines, plus a 90% surcharge and other additional fees. If by chance the charge is upgraded to a second-degree felony, the prison sentence increases to one to 15 years. Any included fines can increase to $10,000, plus a 90% surcharge and other additional fees can be added. The minimum prison sentence is five years if the charge is upgraded to a first-degree felony, and the maximum is life. Additional requirements that may be part of your possession charges or distribution penalties include the following:
- Completion of mandatory drug screenings
- Completion of a mandatory intensive treatment program with inpatient and aftercare
- Suspension or revocation of your driver’s license
Don’t Gamble With Your Future. If You’ve Been Charged With A Cocaine Offense, Talk To A Trusted Lawyer.
With the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney in Salt Lake City from Larsen, Larsen, Nash & Larsen, you can get the support you need and achieve the best possible outcome. For more information or to schedule a free consultation, call the firm today at (801) 964-1200 or contact us online.