Charged With a DUI in Salt Lake City?
If charged with a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charge in Utah, you’ll need an experienced West Valley DUI lawyer. A DUI charge is something that shouldn’t be taken lightly with how stringent Utah’s laws are. A first offense includes mandatory community service/jail time and subsequent charges will require even harsher penalties. When charged with a DUI in Utah, there is a mandated driver’s license suspension and with multiple offenses, you could lose your driver’s license for years. You will want to make sure you have an experienced criminal law attorney to help reduce or drop your charges.
West Valley DUI Attorney at Larsen, Larsen, Nash & Larsen
It is never a good idea to get behind the wheel after consuming alcohol. Not only is it against the law, but it could be dangerous. You put yourself and others at risk for injury and life-threatening situations. In the case you are pulled over while intoxicated, call us immediately. We can help make sure you get the best legal representation so your rights are protected. A criminal defense lawyer can analyze your case and the manner in which you were pulled over. Such as how a sobriety test or breathalyzer (BAC) test was conducted by the arresting officer and did the officer have adequate reasons to pull you over?
Larsen, Larsen, Nash, and Larsen can make sure there was appropriate cause for the arrest. You can call us at (801) 204-9224 for a free consultation and we can discuss the best direction to take your case. You can also visit our website and fill out our online form. However you decide to contact us, we will make sure you get help right away from a dedicated DUI attorney.
Utah DUI Laws
In the state of Utah, if a person has a blood or breath alcohol concentration of .05 grams or more when in control of a vehicle, is guilty of Driving Under the Influence or (“DUI”). First time DUI charges in Utah will generally carry a class B misdemeanor sentence. This sentence requires a minimum fine of $1400, jail time of at least 48 hours, but can result in jail time up to 6 months. In addition, a first time DUI offense charge will result in a driver’s license suspension for 120 days. The DUI offense can result in a Class misdemeanor, if the offense caused injury to another or if the person had a passenger 18 years or younger in the car. In this case, the DUI could lead to a $2500 fine, up to one year in jail, and other court fees and fines.
Utah DUI Penalties
DUI penalties in the state of Utah will vary depending on the facts of your case. The range of the penalty will depend on how many prior convictions you have had. Below you will find what the potential penalties generally look like for a first, second, and third offense. For more information, you can also visit the Utah DMV website.
|1st Offense||2nd Offense||3rd Offense|
|Jail Time||Up to 180 days in jail (mandatory 2 days in jail or 48 community service)||Up to 180 days in jail (mandatory 10 days in jail or 5 days in jail plus 30 days of electronic monitoring)||Maximum 5 years in prison (mandatory 62 days in jail if prison isn’t ordered)|
|Fees/Fines||Minimum $1,310||Minimum $1,560||Minimum of $2,850|
|License Suspension||120 Days||Revoked For 2 Years||Revoked For 2 Years|
Drunk Driving Arrest? Rely On a West Valley DUI Lawyer Today!
If you or a loved one has recently been pulled over for a DUI in the State of Utah, look to an experienced West Valley DUI Lawyer. A criminal defense lawyer can help you quickly navigate the different types of DUI’s an individual can be charged with. We can help you get the legal support you deserve when charged with drunk driving. You don’t have to do this alone, Larsen, Larsen, Nash & Larsen is here to help with your Utah DUI. Give us a call today at (801) 204-9224 for the best DUI defense attorney in Utah.