In Utah, a first-time DUI is considered a class B misdemeanor. It is punishable by a maximum of $1000 fine, a driver’s license suspension for up to 120 days, and a jail sentence up to six months. However, you could face far worse penalties or even a felony charge if your DUI charge involves an injury or the death of another person.
Utah DUI Involving Injury To Another
In the state of Utah there are two types of injury that relate to a DUI charge; bodily injury and serious bodily injury. The charges of the suspect in a DUI arrest will vary depending on the seriousness of an injury.
Utah state law defines a serious bodily injury as an injury that causes or creates a substantial risk of death, a serious permanent disfigurement, or impairment of a bodily function or organ. In addition, any other sustained injury is considered a bodily injury.
A first DUI offense can be charged as a Class A misdemeanor if someone sustained bodily injury from an accident. If the DUI arrest involves a serious bodily injury, it can be charged as a third-degree felony. This could possibly lead to a fine of up to $5,000 and a maximum 5-year prison sentence upon conviction.
DUI Involving A Death
A DUI death is also known as a “automobile homicide.” A person could be charged if they drive negligently due to the influence of alcohol/drugs and cause a death while driving. In addition, a person can be charged with automobile homicide while driving using a cell phone or other device.
A first DUI offense can be charged as a second degree felony. If your DUI arrest involves the death of another person you can receive harsh punishments. This is punishable by a prison sentence up to 15 years and a maximum $10,000 fine (excludes court fees).
If You Have Been Accused Of A DUI In Utah-Rely On Larsen, Larsen, Nash & Larsen
A DUI arrest doesn’t mean you are automatically guilty. Even if you have been arrested for a DUI in Salt Lake City and it involved injury or death, you have the right to defend yourself from extreme criminal penalties. At Larsen, Larsen, Nash, & Larsen, we understand that in most cases, more than one person shares the blame in an automobile accident. Because of this, it’s important to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to help defend you and prevent harsh criminal penalties.
Call The Law Firm Of Larsen, Larsen, Nash & Larsen Today
Our experienced legal team can gather all the evidence and thoughtfully investigate the accident to build a strong case. We can determine who is at fault and use an effective strategy to help reduce your charges. We know how important your life is to you and how a DUI in Utah can negatively affect it. We’re committed to providing the best legal help and our focus is to get your life back on track. Give the criminal defense lawyers of Larsen, Larsen, Nash & Larsen a call today at (801) 964-1200.