Criminal Law FAQs
Salt Lake City Criminal Defense Attorneys Answer Questions
At Larsen, Larsen, Nash & Larsen, we focus on providing unprecedented personal attention and support to our clients. With over 60 years of combined experience, our firm has been able to help thousands of people who have faced criminal charges. For your benefit, we have listed the most frequently asked questions. Please feel free to contact our firm for more information on our criminal defense services.
- What is the difference between a misdemeanor and a felony in Utah?
- Is DUI a misdemeanor or a felony in Utah?
- What is the difference between impaired driving and drunk driving in Utah?
- What is the penalty for a petty theft in Utah?
- How can I remove my criminal record in Utah?
- What are the penalties for my criminal charges?
- Do I need an attorney to handle my criminal case?
Get The Support You Need From Our Defense Attorneys at Larsen, Larsen, Nash & Larsen.
With the ability to provide comprehensive criminal defense services, Larsen, Larsen, Nash & Larsen offers unprecedented representation. For more information or to schedule a free consultation, call our firm at 801-758-8728 or contact us online today. We are conveniently located in West Valley City, just west of I-215. We currently represent clients throughout Salt Lake County and the surrounding areas of northern Utah. These areas include Summit County, Davis County and Wabash County, Provo, Ogden and Park City.
What is the difference between a misdemeanor & a felony in Utah?
A misdemeanor is a far less serious crime than a Felony. Penalties for a misdemeanor have a maximum penalty of one year or less in the county jail. An individual can expect to pay up to $2,500 in fines, plus additional fees with convictions. Whereas the penalties for felonies are much more severe. Incarceration for felonies occur at a Utah State Prison, and fines and fees can easily reach $5,000 or more.
Is DUI a misdemeanor or a felony in Utah?
A DUI is considered a misdemeanor, whether it is your first or second DUI charge. However, if you receive a third DUI conviction within a ten year period, the charge upgraded to a third-degree felony. Additionally, the charge is automatically deemed a felony DUI in the following cases:
- if your DUI resulted in the injury or death of another individual, or
- if you have been previously convicted of vehicular homicide at any time
What is the difference between impaired driving & drunk driving in Utah?
Impaired driving is a less severe offense than drunk driving or DUI. Considering you may not be charged with impaired driving at the time of your DUI arrest, your lawyer can attain the reduced penalties associated with impaired driving. The most common way to downgrade a DUI charge to impaired driving is a plea bargain.
What is the penalty for a petty theft in Utah?
Petty theft such as shoplifting is the least severe type of theft charge. Petty theft is considered a class B misdemeanor, meaning the stolen property is valued at $500 or less. When an individual is convicted of a first-time theft, they can be held responsible for up to 180 days in jail and receive fines and fees of $1,940.
How can I remove my criminal record in Utah?
You can pursue an expungement in order to seal your criminal record from the public. The expungement process can be complicated, and you must meet certain criteria in order to qualify. For help with obtaining an expungement, it is necessary to consult a criminal defense attorney.
What are the penalties for my criminal charges?
The Penalties for criminal charges depend primarily on the nature of the crime and the number of past charges one has been convicted of. A Misdemeanor charge involves less severe penalties, with class C being the least serious type of misdemeanor and class A being the most serious. Penalties for a misdemeanor crime may include up to one year in a county jail and/or fines that total $4,750 or less. Felony charges involve more extreme penalties, including serving time in a Utah State Prison and paying up to $10,000 in excessive fines. A third degree felony is the least severe type of felony, while a capital offense or first degree felony are the most severe.
Do I Need An Attorney To Handle My Criminal Case?
Anyone charged with a crime has the right to have legal representation. A criminal defense attorney provides protection and support throughout your case. If you are convicted, a lawyer can help protect you from receiving severe penalties. At the very least, it is important to have a legal professional assess your case before making a decision regarding representation.
We are conveniently located in West Valley City, just west of I-215. Our firm currently represents clients throughout Salt Lake County and the surrounding areas of northern Utah. These areas include Summit County, Davis County, Wabash, and the cities of Provo, Ogden and Park City.